Administrative Services » Bus Driver Training

Bus Driver Training

School Bus Driver Safety Certification Training is a state-mandated program to provide an initial 20 hours of safety certification training required of all school bus drivers. Also, an eight-hour re-certification training for all drivers every three years, thereafter. The purpose of this training is to assist schools in providing safety for students while being transported to and from school and on school-sponsored trips.

Instructors are located throughout our 17-county region with classes scheduled periodically throughout the year.

Taking a re-certification class within 180 days prior to expiration date is recommended. A driver cannot legally drive a Texas school bus if their expiration date has passed.

The Bus Driver Certification Program will enforce the Cancellation/Refund policy adopted by the ESC for any “no-show” participants beginning January 1, 2021. Any driver registered to attend a Bus Driver 20 Hour or 8 Hour class that does not drop their registration 3 calendar days prior to the class will be charged for the session. For full information please view our Workshop Policy webpage.

1. Bus drivers must have a valid Texas CDL license, either Class A or B (with P and S endorsements.)
2. Bus drivers must be at least 18 years of age.
3. Bus drivers must have a safe driving record in accordance with state law and district requirements.
4. All drivers must pass a physical examination by a TxDOT-certified physician each year. The day the physical is taken invalidates the previous physical. If failed, the driver must notify Transportation management immediately. Under DOT regulations, a driver cannot drive with a failed physical.
5. TX DPS requires that all Texas CDL holders must provide a Self-Certification Affidavit (CDL-7) at the time of license renewal and/or changes required by TxDOT.
6. Bus drivers with a class A or B State CDL license must complete the approved "state certification”. (Refresher course every 3 years)

1. To obtain full initial driver certification, a person must complete a twenty-hour basic training course. The training agency shall issue a "Texas School Bus Driver Safety Training Certificate" in a timely manner, and submit the necessary verification information to the Texas Education Agency.

2. Driver state certification will remain valid for a period of three (3) calendar years as indicated by the expiration date on the certificate. Certification may be revoked or suspended for the conviction of certain criminal offenses as provided by state law.

3. State law requires that every driver transporting students in a school bus MUST have in their possession a valid state certificate stating that they have completed, or are enrolled in, an approved school bus driver training course, as well as, a current DOT physical and valid Texas CDL.

4. Anyone whose certification has expired CANNOT legally operate a school bus for the transportation of students until such time as they become re-certified or obtain a re-enrollment (emergency) certificate. The following rules shall apply to certification renewals:

a. To avoid a lapse in certification, an eight-hour refresher course must be completed prior to the expiration date, and should be completed during the six-month (180-day) period immediately preceding the date of expiration. If the required training is completed within this time, state certification will then be renewed for a period of three calendar years from the upcoming expiration date.

b. During the twelve-month interval immediately following certification expiration, an eight-hour refresher course may be completed for certification renewal. Failure to satisfactorily complete the refresher course or the requested issuance of an enrollment certificate during this dormant time interval will require the completion of a twenty-hour basic training course in order to reinstate full certification status.

c. If the eight-hour refresher course is completed more than 180 days prior to the certification expiration or during the twelve-month interval following expiration, certification will then be renewed for a period of three calendar years from the actual date of the completion of the course.

Training Schedule

Type Date Location Workshop Instructor
Bus Driver 8 Hour Safety
Re-Certification Online
December 1-16, 2022 Online Course 259046 Jim Moore
Type Date Location Workshop Instructor
Bus Driver 20 Hour
Safety Certification
January 14 & 21 & 28, 2023 Tyler, TX 259144 Yvetta Henry
Bus Driver 8 Hour Safety 
Re-Certification
January 21, 2023 Jacksonville, TX 257661 Bill Avera
Bus Driver 8 Hour Safety 
Re-Certification
January 28, 2023 Nacogdoches, TX 257944 Stacy Lampkin
Type Date Location Workshop Instructor
Bus Driver 20 Hour Safety Certification
February 4 & 11 & 18, 2022 Longview, TX 260812 Earlene Moon
Bus Driver 8 Hour Safety 
Re-Certification
February 18, 2023 Tyler, TX 259145 Yvetta Henry
Bus Driver 20 Hour Safety Certification February 18 & 25 & March 4, 2023 Jacksonville, TX 257664 Bill Avera
Type Date Location Workshop Instructor
Bus Driver 8 Hour Safety 
Re-Certification
April 22, 2023 Longview, TX 260814 Earlene Moon

Contact us for more information: