Skip Navigation
Connect with Us:

Superintendent of the Year


020 Superintendent of the Year
Dr. Jerry Gibson, Marshall ISD

Region 7 Education Service Center is honored to announce Dr. Jerry Gibson, Marshall ISD Superintendent of Schools, as the 2020 Regional Superintendent of the Year.

Dr. Gibson completed his Bachelor of Science degree at East Texas Baptist University in 1993, with additional studies at Prairie View A&M University, Stephen F. Austin University, and Texas Southern University. He holds a Master of Education from Lamar University, and a Doctor of Education in Professional Leadership from the University of Houston.

Dr. Gibson has been employed in different capacities throughout Texas for over twenty-five years. His professional administrative experience includes time spent as a high school principal in Deweyville and Whitney, the Executive Director of Secondary Education in Waco, and seven years as a Superintendent of Schools in both Coldspring-Oakhurst and Marshall. Continue reading here.


April 9: Nomination submissions due to designated ESC

June 25: Regional screening completed and nominations submitted to TASB

August 27-28: All regional winners interviewed and five finalists chosen by the TASB State Selection Committee

September: Finalists interviewed and Superintendent of the Year chosen by TASB State Selection Committee

September: Presentation of the award at the 2021 TASA/TASB Convention

Since 1984, the Texas Association of School Boards' (TASB) Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award program has honored outstanding Texas administrators for achievement and excellence in public school administration.

Candidates are chosen for the strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their school districts, commitment to public support and involvement in education, and ability to build good employee relations among teachers and other staff members.

Each nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Has continuously served as superintendent of the district since September 1, 2018, or before (interim positions do not count);
  • Is a TASA member and in a district that is an “Active Member” of TASB;
  • Is certified and meets the State Board for Educator Certification continuing professional education requirement;
  • Is an active superintendent at the time of the2021 TASA|TASB Convention.


The nominating school board should complete the entry form and student performance work sheet. A letter of recommendation from the board president (no more than five pages total) should be addressed to the SOTY Selection Committee. Performance criteria is detailed in the brochure. Districts also should submit a resume (maximum of three pages) and a resolution signed by the board and provide a photo of the superintendent.

The education service center will coordinate the regional screening. School board members serving on the regional screening committee are from districts that do not have superintendents nominated for the award and do not have board members on the TASB State Selection Committee. Each regional screening committee will submit one nomination to the TASB State Selection Committee.

The State Selection Committee is typically composed of TASB directors appointed by the TASB president to serve on the TASB Member Services Committee. A director may not serve if the superintendent from his or her district is being considered.



For more information about this program, please visit the TASB Superintendent of the Year website.

Contact Us

Summer Stone
Communications Coordinator
(903) 988-6972

Copyright © {{YEAR}}. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM