Curriculum Services » Early Childhood Education

Early Childhood Education

Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning at the University of Vanderbilt. Provides free materials in English and Spanish; funded by the U.S. Dept. Of Health and Human Services.
 
 
 
Guidance and Challenging Behaviors from the National Association for the Education of Young Children
 
Executive Function & Self Regulation from the Harvard Center on the Developing Child.  
 
 

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What are the Pre-K requirements under House Bill 3? Is Pre-K funded for full-day or half-day?
In addition to other requirements addressed in a recent To the Administrator Addressed Letter, House Bill 3 provides for full-day Pre-K for all eligible 4-year-old children.
 
2. Is the full-day prekindergarten program effective this year or in a later school year?
The full-day prekindergarten program requirement for eligible four-year-olds will be effective September 1, 2019, with implementation in the 2019-2020 school year.
 
3. Does the full-day prekindergarten program requirement apply to all prekindergarten students?
No. The full-day prekindergarten program requirement applies to eligible four-year-olds.
 
4. May a district request a waiver to either partially, or fully exempt them from providing full-day prekindergarten to eligible four-year-olds?
Yes. A district may request an exemption for up to three years, which may only be renewed once. All districts that are unable to meet the full-day requirement for all eligible 4-year-old students by September 1, 2019, must submit an exemption request.
 
5. If a district elects to request a waiver, when and through what process will that be available?
An exemption may be requested through the State Waiver Unit. The exemption for full-day prekindergarten will be available each year for first-time applicants or renewal.
 
 

Contact Us

Tera Griffis, M.Ed.
Director
tgriffis@esc7.net
(903) 988-6772
Melinda Moran, M.Ed.
Early Childhood Specialist
mmoran@esc7.net
(903) 988-6987
 
Meg Whitaker, M.Ed.
Early Childhood Specialist
mwhitaker@esc7.net
(903) 988-6768
 
Buffie Walton, M.Ed.
Early Childhood Specialist
bwalton@esc7.net
(903) 988-6841
Rhonda Lemon, M.Ed.
Curricular Specialist
rlemon@esc7.net
(903) 988-6790
Kathy Meadows
Secretary
kmeadows@esc7.net
(903) 988-6758