ESC 7 FacebookESC 7 TwitterEmail ESC 7

Home  |  A-Z Sitemap  |  Store  |  Jobs

Federal Programs Banner
Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS)

All students in grades K-12 who are identified as limited English proficient (LEP), including LEP students with parental denials, are required to be assessed.

TELPAS is administered to meet NCLB requirements for assessing the English language proficiency of grades K-12 ELLs (English language learners)  in the language domains of listening, speaking, reading and writing.

Each language domain is assessed separately.

Teachers use proficiency level descriptors (PLDs) as rubrics to holistically determine the proficiency level of their ELLs.

There are 4 proficiency levels:

  • Beginning
  • Intermediate
  • Advanced
  • Advanced High