Home  |  A-Z Sitemap  |  Store  |  Jobs

Superintendent of the Year

Since 1984, the Texas Association of School Boards’ (TASB) Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award program has honored outstanding Texas administrators for achievement and excellence in public school administration. Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their school districts, commitment to public support and involvement in education, and ability to build good employee relations among teachers and other staff members.  

Any local school board holding membership in TASB may nominate its superintendent for the award. Nominations must be made by the board by preparing the required documentation and submitting it to the designated regional ESC. Nominees must have served as superintendent of the district for at least three consecutive school years and be a member of TASA. Superintendents who receive the top state award cannot be nominated again during a five-year period. This rule does not apply to superintendents who were named regional winners or state finalists.

» SOTY Program Information

For more information:
Adriana Moon, Communications Coordinator
(903) 988-6748